Skip to main content

Brazil: Visa Exemption for United States, Canadian, Australian, and Japanese Citizens

By Colleen DiNicola

In an effort to boost foreign tourism and business travel, Brazilian President Jair Bolsonaro announced that, as of June 17, 2019, certain citizens of the United States, Canada, Australia, and Japan are permitted to enter Brazil without obtaining a visa prior to travel. The Executive Order was signed on March 18, 2019 by President Bolsonaro, Foreign Minister Ernesto Araújo, Tourism Minister Marcelo Álvaro Antônio, and Justice Minister Sérgio Moro as part of bilateral negotiations between the United States and Brazil.

As of June 17, 2019, visitors from these four countries may travel to Brazil for tourism, business, artistic or sports activities, and transit without first obtaining a visa. Travelers will be permitted to remain in Brazil for a maximum of 90 days per visit, but may not spend more than 180 days in the country within a 12-month period.

Travelers must be in possession of a passport valid for at least six months. Additional recommended documents include an invitation letter from a Brazilian company for business travelers, a round trip flight itinerary, a hotel reservation, evidence of medical insurance, and proof of sufficient finances for the duration of travel.

For more information on the visa-waiver policy, permitted activities as a tourist or business traveler, or assistance with long-stay visas, work authorizations, or residence permits please contact the Global Immigration Team at [email protected].

The Global Immigration Team at Mintz will continue to monitor this development. Please click the links below for the official announcement from the Brazilian Embassy in Washington, DC, the Executive Order from Office of the President of Brazil (Portuguese), and the Official Press Release from the Brazilian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.



Subscribe To Viewpoints