Skip to main content

Mintz's Tyrone Thomas Awarded for Outstanding Contribution to DEI at Chambers Diversity Awards

LOS ANGELES, WASHINGTON, DC – Mintz Member and Co-Chair of the firm’s Sports & Entertainment practice, Tyrone Thomas, has been given the Diversity & Inclusion: Outstanding Contribution (Private Practice) award at the annual Chambers Diversity & Inclusion Awards: North America 2022.

Mr. Thomas was recognized for his leadership role as Chair of the Diversity Committee at Mintz, where he oversaw, in conjunction with the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) department, a number of important initiatives and changes, including recruiting and promoting diverse talent, mentoring, and amending the firm’s by-laws to ensure that the Diversity Committee Chair had a permanent voting position on the Policy Committee, the firm’s highest decision making body. In addition, his contributions to the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, the Diversity Committee of the Board of the Tulane University School Sports Law Program and the Title IX Committee of the Sports Lawyers Association were also key factors in this accolade.

This highly prestigious recognition for Mr. Thomas comes off the back of eight years leading the Diversity Committee at Mintz.

Mintz was additionally shortlisted in the following categories:

  • Diversity & Inclusion: Future Leader - Natalie Groot
  • Pro Bono: Lawyer of the Year - Susan Finegan
  • Diversity & Inclusion: Outstanding Firm

Meanwhile, the firm recently launched the Equity Advisory Committee (EAC), which is set to replace the Diversity Committee, and sees Mr. Thomas hand the DEI torch over to fellow Member O’Kelly McWilliams.

The Chambers Diversity Awards took place in Los Angeles and “shine the spotlight on role models and trailblazers in pro bono and corporate social responsibility as well as inclusion”.

For more information about Diversity at Mintz, please visit

For more information about Mintz, please visit