Skip to main content

Mintz Shortlisted for Asia Legal Awards M&A Deal of the Year: North Asia

Firm honored for work on one of Asia’s most important and complex transactions

Mintz is pleased to share that the firm has been shortlisted for M&A Deal of the Year: North Asia by the Asia Legal Awards for its work advising Beijing, China-based global biotechnology company BeiGene, Ltd. (NASDAQ: BGNE; HKEX: 06160) on its global strategic oncology collaboration with Amgen (NASDAQ: AMGN), which included a $2.8 billion equity investment.

The Asia Legal Awards, hosted annually by The Asian Lawyer, in association with The American Lawyer, China Law & Practice and Legal Week, recognize the region's top lawyers, law firms, and in-house teams. To compile the shortlist, editorial staff from the four publications identified the most important transactions and cases with the most complex and outstanding legal work in Asia.

In October 2019, BeiGene and Amgen announced a global strategic oncology collaboration for the commercialization and development in China of Amgen’s XGEVA® (denosumab), KYPROLIS® (carfilzomib), and BLINCYTO® (blinatumomab), and the joint global development of 20 oncology assets in Amgen’s pipeline, with BeiGene responsible for development and commercialization in China. In connection with the collaboration, Amgen purchased a 20.5% stake in BeiGene for approximately $2.8 billion in cash. The transaction closed on January 2, 2020.

Mintz served as legal advisor to BeiGene for the collaboration agreement and representation was led by Mintz Licensing and Collaborations Practice Member John J. Cheney.

Mintz is one of the leading law firms to the life sciences industry, and as such, the firm’s corporate and licensing attorneys have handled more than $20 billion of transactions in the past few years for life sciences clients, including public offerings, joint ventures, licensing and strategic collaborations, mergers and acquisitions, divestitures, distribution deals, and private financings. 

The Asia Legal Awards winners will be announced at a ceremony in March.