Skip to main content

Pro Bono Awards

Firm-wide Awards

National Legal Aid & Defender Association

2023 Beacon of Justice Award 

The National Legal Aid and Defender Association 

The National Legal Aid and Defender Association honored Mintz with a 2023 Beacon of Justice Award, recognizing the work the firm undertook in 2022 related to LGBTQ+, gender, and racial equity.

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly Pro Bono Spotlight

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly selected Mintz to appear in the Pro Bono Spotlight section in December.

Pro Bono-Specific Awards

2022 Capital Pro Bono Honor Roll

DC Access to Justice Commission

The DC Access to Justice Commission named Danielle Bereznay, B’anca Glenn, and Rachel Yount to its 2022 Capital Pro Bono Honor Roll.

2022 Pro Bono Honor Roll Program

Massachusetts Supreme Court Judicial Court

The Standing Committee on Pro Bono Legal Services of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court named 24 Mintz lawyers to its 2022 Pro Bono Honor Roll for individual attorneys, and 20 to its High Honor Roll.

The distinction requires a minimum of 50 hours of pro bono legal services in the previous calendar year, and 100 for the high honor roll.

2022 Honor Roll:      
Nicholas Armington, Delaney Busch, Amanda Clairmont, Mitchell Clough, Nadia Do Canto, Kathryn Droumbakis, Emma Follansbee, Joshua Fox, Jacob Goodelman, Geri Haight, Stefan Jović, Samantha Kingsbury, Kadie Martin, Laura Martin, Mathilda McGee-Tubb, Sofia Nuño, Cassandra Paolillo, Amy Pearlman, Christine Pemberton, Kianna Phillips, Clare Prober, John Quill, Mirele Sagan-Gutherz, Janki Viroja

2022 High Honor Roll:      
Keshav Ahuja, Smriti Choudhury, Andrew DeVoogd, Danielle Dillon, Ryan Dougherty, Caroline Enright, Susan Finegan, Katharine Foote, Daniel Goodrich, Nicole Henry, Rebecca Lee, Evelyn Limón, Audrey McQuade, Michael Molstad, Andrew Nathanson, Alyssa Scruggs, Juan Steevens, Kate Stewart, Betsy Burnett, Martha Koster

Individual Awards

Pro Bono Citation

The League of Women for Community Service

Tony Starr received a citation in recognition for his impressive work providing construction and contract advice to the league for the renovation of its historic building in Boston.

Certification of Appreciation

Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court

Martha Koster and Susan Finegan were recognized for their work founding the impactful Massachusetts Access to Justice Fellows program.

Diversity & Inclusion: Future Leader

Chambers USA Awards

Nicole Rivers was named on the short list for the Diversity & Inclusion: Future Leader Award for her contributions to furthering the advancement of inclusion across the United States and Canada.

Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year

Chambers USA D&I Awards

Drew DeVoogd was named on the short list for the Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year Award. The shortlist shines a spotlight on role models and trailblazers in pro bono advocacy and corporate social responsibility as well as inclusion efforts.

Excellence in Pro Bono

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly for Excellence in Law

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly honored Drew DeVoogd with this special honor for attorneys who use their skills and resources to take on cases for the less fortunate and those in need.

Certificate of Recognition

New York County Lawyers Association / New York State Bar Association / New York Unified Court System’s Office for Justice

Marine Bouaziz received a Certificate of Recognition for her dedication to the Family Court Volunteer Attorney Program.

2023 Ian Yankwitt Equalizer Award

Gideon’s Promise

Gideon’s Promise awarded Barry Bohrer the 2023 Ian Yankwitt Equalized Award for his public defense services and active commitment to transforming the criminal justice system by providing high-quality public defense for marginalized communities.

Pro Bono Advocate of the Year

Kids in Need of Defense (KIND)

Joanne Hawana was named the Pro Bono Advocate of the Year by Kids in Need of Defense. The award recognized the most outstanding attorney who has gone above and beyond in their assistance to unaccompanied children and for their exceptional contributions to KIND cases.

Hall of Fame Award

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly honored Susan Finegan with the Hall of Fame Award for her contributions to the development of law and the bar, and her efforts to improve the quality of justice in Massachusetts.


Public Interest Leadership Program

Boston Bar Association

Katharine Foote was selected to join the Boston Bar Association’s Public Interest Leadership Program Class of 2023.

Future Leaders Program 2023

Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

William Bussiere, Natalie Groot, and Kevin Mortimer participated in the Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce’s Future Leaders Program. The program provides emerging leaders with a fully engaged leadership toolkit blending academic content, practical application, and networking.

Women of Influence in Law List

San Diego Business Journal

Jen Rubin was named to the San Diego Business Journal’s Women of Influence in Law List, which honors women attorneys in the San Diego area who have made a significant impact on their clients, profession, and community.

2023 Rising Stars–Top Attorneys Under 40


Law360 named Mathilda McGee-Tubb to the 2023 Rising Stars-Top Attorneys Under 40 list for her career accomplishments and dedication to pro bono efforts.

Women of Influence Attorneys

Los Angeles Business Journal

Lara Compton & Kathyn “Katie” Edgerton were recognized by the Los Angeles Business Journal as Women of Influence Attorneys for their exceptional legal skill and achievement across the full spectrum of responsibility, exemplary leadership as evidenced by the highest professional and ethical standards, and for contributions to the Los Angeles community at large.

Up & Coming Lawyers

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly for Excellence in Law

Massachusetts Lawyers Weekly named Mathilda McGee-Tubb to its Up & Coming Lawyers list as part of the publication’s 2023 Excellence in the Law Awards. The distinction recognizes the rising stars of the local legal community who have practiced for 10 years or less.

40 Next Top Business Leaders Under 40

San Diego Business Journal

Nicole Rivers was named to the San Diego Business Journal’s 40 Next Top Business Leaders Under 40. The list honors young professionals — leaders, change makers, and innovators — who are making waves, creating impact, and leaving a positive mark on the San Diego community.

Mintz Internal Pro Bono Award

2023 Richard Mintz Pro Bono Award 


On behalf of the firm, the Pro Bono Committee presents an annual award to an attorney who demonstrates leadership and commitment in the area of pro bono. Alyssa Scruggs has been a tireless advocate for human trafficking survivors throughout Massachusetts. For the last three years, she has spearheaded human trafficking legislative efforts — including proposed legislation that would decriminalize prostitution and another that would expand access to victim compensation. Alyssa has regularly attended legislative hearings on these bills and serves as the Co-Chair of the Boston Bar Association Human Trafficking Subcommittee. In addition to her legislative efforts, Alyssa served as part of a team that successfully vacated the convictions of a sex trafficking survivor, the first time that Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 265, Sec. 59 (the “Vacatur Statute”) (which Mintz helped pass) was applied to vacate a survivor’s convictions.